The University of Mississippi

Ole Miss Badminton Club
Intramural Doubles Team Competition – 2012

[Photo Album]

Dates: 10-26 October, 2012.

Time: Regular Practice Time (Sun, Wed, Fri)

Format : Teams [Doubles (MS,WD,MX,4th Game)] [Rules]

Venue : Court 1  Turner Center, University MS 38677

Participants : OMBC Members, Faculty, Staff, Student [Team List]


Champion : Team D  [PHOTO]

Xin Dang, Erwin Mina, Zhiqu Lu, Sheng Liu, Jaysal Patel, Caixia Gao

Runners-Up :  Team C  [PHOTO]

Samarth Solanki, Sumudu Tennakoon, Saminda Adikaram, Lars Gormar, Maheesha Tennakoon, Li-Hsien Chow

3rd Place : Team F  [PHOTO]

Bruce Tuan, Nuwan Kothalawala, Hongkai Liu, Jin Zhang, Luisa Prolingheuer, Eunice Chong

Results Summary 

A 1/5 1/5 5/5 3/5 20.0 4
B 4/5 3/5 2/5 1/5 20.0 4
C 5/5 4/5 2/5 1/5 24.0 2
D 1/5 5/5 4/5 4/5 28.0 1
E 2/5 0/5 0/5 1/5 6.0 6
F 2/5 2/5 2/5 5/5 22.0 3

Winning 1 match = 2.0 points

Featured MD, WD and XD  Pairs

Men's Double

# IBC Team Players Won Lost
1 C Samarth Solanki & Sumudu Tennakoon 5 0
2 B Lei Cao & Bo Fu 3 1
3 E Azad Hossain & Yan Ding 2 2

Women's Double

# IBC Team Players Won Lost
1 D Xin Dang & Caixia Gao 5 0
2 C Maheesha Tennakoon & Li-Hsien Chow 4 1
3 B Xiaoyun Howard & Jingjing Wang 3 2

Mixed Doubles

# IBC Team Players Won Lost
1 A Xiaobo Chao & Yilin Mao 5 0
2 D Erwin Mina & Xin Dang 4 1
3 B Lei Cao & Xiaoyun Howard 2 2

4th Match (2nd Men's double)

# IBC Team Players Won Lost
1 F Nuwan Kothalawala & Hongkai Liu 5 0
2 D Sheng Liu & Jaysal Patel 4 1

Team member List (* Team Captains) [top]

Team A
1 Xiaobo Chao *
2 Shawn Chao
3 Jing Lin
4 Upul Hewamanna 
5 Yilin Mao
6 Zhiran Zhao

Team B
1 Lei Cao *
2 Bo Fu
3 Haidong Wu
4 Saša Kocic
5 Xiaoyun Howard
6 Jingjing Wang 
Team C
1 Samarth Solanki*
2 Sumudu Tennakoon
3 Saminda Adikaram
4 Lars Gormar 
5 Maheesha Tennakoon
6 Li-Hsien Chow
Team D
1 Xin Dang*
2 Erwin Mina
3 Zhiqu Lu
4 Sheng Liu
5 Jaysal Patel 
6 Caixia Gao 
Team E
1 Yan Ding *
2 Azad Hossain
3 Tuan Ta
4 Ian Hominick
5 Wenxian Xu 
6 Wan Yee Yam 
Team F
1 Bruce Tuan *
2 Nuwan Kothalawala
3 Hongkai Liu
4 Jin Zhang
5 Luisa Prolingheuer
6 Eunice Chong

Competition Rules [top]

Teams, Team Captains, and Team Members:

  1. There will be 6 teams with 6 members per team. Teams will be balanced considering overall performance of players. There will be a team captain for each team.
  2. Those teams will play each other as team games (consist of MD, WD, XD and 4th game). 
  3. Each team captain can choose team members with agreement of chosen members and with discussion with other team captains if there is a conflict.
  4. Team captains schedule and arrange their games with mutual agreements as their team players available. Team game assignment should be transparent and based on all four matches in the team game.
  5. Fixed doubles partners have a preference to be in a team.
  6. In case team captain cannot get enough members, club will assign remaining members in a fair rule.
  7. Late signup players are put in wait list. Club members should be priority in that case.
  8. Club will make revision on team members when necessary and approve the team based on team balance.
  9. Team captains should make sure every player in your team has finished the Individual Paperwork Packet (the 3 pages paper) since it is a requirement for participating intramural competition.


  1. Only 2 team members can play 2 events in the same team game. Each player plays at least one game in each team game.
  2. No male player will play as female player in WD or XD.
  3. Any match rescheduling should notified by team captain at least before 24 hours of scheduled time (Both team captains and the committee should be aware and email will be sufficient).
  4. In a situation of team member withdraw or got injured during the competition and the committee was unable to find a replacement. Team captains can discuss and come to a solution of cover-up player assignment.
  5. In case of absent player, two team captains can reschedule the game (cover-up player assignment will not be applicable) and when it is not possible team committed to play on first scheduled time will get the win.
  6. Scoring: Winning points for each match is 2.0 point.
  7. Champion, Runner-up and 3rd place teams will be decided by overall winning team events. If the best 2 teams have same accumulated points, extra team game is held to determine the winner.  If there are more than 2 teams have same accumulated points, winner is decided by: (1) net winnings of sets if they are still tied, (2) accumulated set points if still tied.
  8. When above rules were not followed by a team, match points gained from those matches (violated rules) will be seized (cancelled).
  9. The competition starts on Wednesday, October 10th 2012 and hold on each practice session. All team matches should be concluded by Wednesday, 24th October 2012.


2016 Practice Schedule

Location : Turner Center (Basketball Court #1)


Our Affiliations


Our Sponsors

Convene Board Portal Logo

Advertisement space is available Contact

University of Mississippi Creed

The University of Mississippi is a community of learning dedicated to nurturing excellence in intellectual inquiry and personal character in an open and diverse environment. As a voluntary member of this community:

  • I believe in respect for the dignity of each person.
  • I believe in fairness and civility.
  • I believe in personal and professional integrity.
  • I believe in academic honesty.
  • I believe in academic freedom.
  • I believe in good stewardship of our resources.
  • I pledge to uphold these values and encourage others to follow my example.