The University of Mississippi

2015 Ole Miss Badminton Open Tournament


Photo Credit : Aditya Khare

2015 Ole Miss Badminton Open Tournament  memories will update soon ...

Venue : Turner Center, University MS 38677 (3rd floor) Map

Facility : Six badminton courts created using 2" wide floor tapes in two college basketball courts

Date : Saturday, March 21, 2015 (Click here for the Facebook Event)

Time: Registration - Begins at 9:00am (Saturday)

Tournament - 9.15 am to 9:00pm (Saturday)


       Men's Singles Women's Singles
Winner Chris Lee (WUSTL) Tien F Nguyen (RBC)
Runner-Up Sandro Rossi (UW) * Xie Jing (RBC)
3rd Place James Meier (PBC) Maheesha Tennakoon (OMBC)
3rd Place Siyuan An (WUSTL) Trang Nguyen (RBC)
Consolation Winner Afif P Abdalla (RBC) Thu-Uyen Isabella Mai (OMBC)
Consolation Runner-Up Satya sai Rahul Gubbala (MSU) --

*Retired hurt 

       Men's Doubles Women's Doubles
Winners Chris Lee (WUSTL) / Siyuan An (WUSTL) Evi Bruster (VBC) / Shino Hayashi (MoBC)
Runners-Up Taichi Yamashita / Thu Dinh (RBC) Tien F Nguyen  / Trang Nguyen (RBC)
3rd Place David Shaw / Jia Gen Ea (VBC) Xie Jing (RBC) / Maheesha Tennakoon (OMBC)
3rd Place K.C Lim (MBC) / James Meier (PBC) Penny Sun / Lorrean Lim (MBC)
Consolation Winners Sathyan Ramakrishnan / Ivan Novikov (VBC)

Thu-Uyen Isabella Mai / Xiayuon Howard (OMBC)

Yatian Li (WUSTL) / Ling Luo (OMBC)

Consolation Runners-Up Porwal Piyush / Nur Wijaya (RBC) -Joint Winners-


Mixed Doubles
Winners Chris Lee (WUSTL) / Shino Hayashi (MoBC)
Runner-Up Sandro Rossi (UW) / Deepti Reddy (MoBC)
3rd Place David Shaw  / Evi Bruster (VBC)
3rd Place Thu Dinh  / Xie Jing (RBC)
Consolation Winners

Chee Yen Chew (MBC) / Xiayuon Howard (OMBC)

Sumudu Tennakoon / Maheesha Tennakoon (OMBC)

Consolation Runners-Up -Joint Winners-


Participated Clubs :

  • MoBC : Missouri Badminton Club (MOBC)
  • MBC    : Memphis Badminton Club
  • WUSTL    : Washington University Badminton Club
  • APBC    : Atlanta Perimeter Badminton Club
  • VBC    : Vanderbilt Badminton Club, Nashville, TN
  • MSU    : Mississippi State Players
  • UW    : University of Wisconsin
  • PBC    : Paige Badminton Club St. Louis
  • OMBC    : Ole Miss Badminton Club
  • RBC    : Raider Badminton Club

Competition organizers provided:  

  • SHUTTLECOCKS Speed 77 (Tournament Grade)
  • LUNCH and DINNER on Saturday for participants


  1. Mens Singles
  2. Womens Singles
  3. Mens Doubles
  4. Womens Doubles
  5. Mixed Doubles

Tournament Format:

  • Brackets : Single Elimination (knockout) with consolation bracket for each event, Round Robin for events with less than six (6) participants.
  • Scoring System : Main Bracket : BWF rally point scoring system (21 points), best of 3, Main Bracket : BWF rally point scoring system (15 points), best of 3.

We'll guarantee two or more matches for each participant in each event. 


  • Winners, Runner(s)-up, 3rd Places, Consolation Winner,  Medals & Certificates.
  • Winners, Runner(s)-up : Cash Awards (we will allocate cash awards based on our budget)
  • Consolation Runner(s)-up:Certificates


  • Morning ( 9am on wards) : Singles (Men's ,Women's)
  • Afternoon : Mixed Doubles
  • Afternoon/ Evening : Doubles (Men's, Women's)


Registration Fee:

  • $30 (one event)
  • $40 (two events)
  • $50 (three events)

Please make check payable to "Ole Miss Badminton Club" and Hand in to the welcome desk in the competition venue. Registration fee is non-refundable

Contact Persons:




2016 Practice Schedule

Location : Turner Center (Basketball Court #1)


Our Affiliations


Our Sponsors

Convene Board Portal Logo

Advertisement space is available Contact

University of Mississippi Creed

The University of Mississippi is a community of learning dedicated to nurturing excellence in intellectual inquiry and personal character in an open and diverse environment. As a voluntary member of this community:

  • I believe in respect for the dignity of each person.
  • I believe in fairness and civility.
  • I believe in personal and professional integrity.
  • I believe in academic honesty.
  • I believe in academic freedom.
  • I believe in good stewardship of our resources.
  • I pledge to uphold these values and encourage others to follow my example.